The Stone Soup Novelist

I have a great idea for a novel. You know what would make it even better?…

Free Jack Vance eBook at JackVance.com

Jack Vance is one of the undisputed masters of Science Fiction, and one of my favorite writers. At his official web site, you can purchase many of his best known books in eBook form – epub and kindle (i.e. mobipocket).

In exchange for registering at JackVance.com, you can get a free copy of The Chasch.

The Chasch is one of my favorite Vance  novels. It’s pure adventure, extremely well told. The hero, Adam Reith, crash-lands on a planet where humanity is subservient to alien races, and must use his wits to find a way back to Earth. It is the first of a series of four books, each one featuring Reith’s adventures among one of the four dominant races on Tschai. For my taste, the first book is by far the best of the 4, and can be read as a stand-alone story.

I’ve seen the series published as Planet of Adventure elsewhere, and book one published as City of the Chasch. In general, the eBooks on JackVance.com will have Vance’s preferred title, which in many cases was not the title used when the book was first published.

I particularly recommend the Dying Earth books.

2 responses to “Free Jack Vance eBook at JackVance.com

  1. Joachim Boaz August 5, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    I enjoyed City of the Chasch but in no way think it’s near his best 😉 I just read Wyst: Alastor 1716 and loved it!

    • dbfurches August 6, 2012 at 4:23 am

      I’ll have to check that one out. City of the Chasch was the best of the 4 Tschai books for me, but definitely not the best Vance book ever. Of his books that I’ve read so far, The Dying Earth and Eyes of the Overworld/Cugel the Clever get my vote.

By posting this comment, you are granting me permission to use the words and ideas expressed below in my novel. You will not sue me when it becomes a bestseller. This is totally legally binding.

